SAY ANYTHING

One of my all time favorite movies is Cameron Crowe’s 1989 classic “Say Anything” with John Cusack and Ione Skye. I mean, come on! If you can find one 30-something woman today who watched that flick as a teenager and didn’t fall head over heels in love with Lloyd Dobler, I’ll eat my own shoe! No one would ever be able to resist him as he stood outside Diane’s (Ione Skye) window, holding a boom box over his head, playing Peter Gabriel’s “In Your Eyes”! You know you loved it. Admit it. And, like me, you probably STILL love it! Memorable even today.

One other Lloyd Dobler moment, a quote, still resonates with me.

“I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career, I don’t want to do that.”

As I sit at my desk, processing the same papers I processed yesterday and will do again tomorrow and so on and so on.. I keep thinking about Lloyd Dobler. How passionate he was about kickboxing, about Diane Court and about making his life exactly as he envisioned it.

I want to learn new things everyday. I want to have new tasks everyday. I want to meet new people everyday. Hell, I even want a man to stand outside my window and proclaim his undying love for me through the words of “In Your Eyes” (gawd, I adore that song!) Will it happen? Well, I have a personal responsibility to try to ensure the first part is accomplished. The guy with a boom box bit, well, there’s always DVD.

"I gave her my heart, she gave me a pen"

5 responses to “SAY ANYTHING

  1. Sadly, the best you will probably get now will be a boy standing outside your window holding an ipod… not quite the same impact, I’m afraid. I love this movie too!!

  2. You go, girl! This is one of my all time favorite movies and “In your Eyes” is one of my favorite 80s songs, those feelings of being in a crush with someone comes right back as soon as I hear the first few seconds of it on the radio…just love it! You are awesome and so is Lloyd! 😀

  3. Yes, you’re probably right. Gone are the days of the boom box.

  4. How many people had that song as their wedding song? I did. : )

  5. Oh Corinne! Did you? I LOVE that song… Had I ever gotten married, it would have been MY song too.

Leave a comment